Week 4 Discussion Questions

In organizations you have been part of, what communication have you experienced that was particularly effective – be specific. What was the communication and how did it persuade you?

By Katherine W

I have been involved with many different organizations growing up and communication was always vital. During my senior year I was President of our school’s FFA chapter. We had just gotten a new advisor who knew very little about our school, my teammates, and the activites we did in the past throughout the year. As president it was my job to communicate with her and help to lead us. It was deffinately harder than I thought and took alot of effort on both of our parts. We would set up meetings and talk about upcoming events and goals we had, we would make a list of things that needed to be accomplished and keep it visible for everyone to see, this way goals were meet. Setting up meetings and talking in person was deffinately the most effect way to communicate, any misunderstandings were handled right away. This taught me and deffinately persuaded me to communicate in person as much as possible because you can interpret tone and read body language.

 

3 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    kristinmarq said,

    I agree that communication in person is the best way to handle things. Especially when you are the leader, it is important to have everyone on the same page. This is true with relationships too. The best way to handle a fight is to talk to each other.

  2. 2

    arienbecker said,

    I agree with what Kristin said. Communication in groups is really important, especially as a leader. I had similar responsibilities as the track captain my senior year, clueing in our new coach.

  3. 3

    hinchea said,

    I will continue the trend and agree with both Kristin and Arien. We do a lot of our most important communication in person. Whether it be personal or from a business or social aspect, we try to do things in person.


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

