Week 7 Discussion

Related to the PR debates:  What are pros and cons of advertising? For examples, think about visual communication from an ad you really liked and one ad you really disliked. Explain why you were inspired or repelled by the ads – how much of your feelings were affected by the words, or by the images.

Some of the cons of advertising, I feel, is more about the audiences certain advertisements trigger. Nowadays, you’ll find a lot of alcoholic ads, seductive ads, things of that sort… everywhere. Billboards, signs, TV, magazines. Granted they keep adults magazines separate from kids magazines, but in stores… they’re all in the same aisle where kids, too, go. They’ll see the front of the Sports Illustrated swimsuit edition. I just feel some ads, younger kids and even teens should not be exposed to, but it’s hard to control who is really going to lay eyes on it. This also goes with visual communication from ads that I disliked. Take alcohol ads for example, they show fun and happy beautiful people having fun and drinking, that’s how you enjoy life. They don’t show how sometimes it breaks apart families and takes lives in certain situations, sometimes both in the same story. This is from personal experience, also, I feel this way.

Some of the pros of advertising, I see, as the health and fitness ads. I like seeing ads for weight watchers, workouts, gyms and such. They want to better the health of people and their fitness. They use real people who made real successes for motivation and I feel because of medical and health reasons, there really aren’t a lot of ways to lie to make their products or programs “look better.”  When I see the success pictures or stories, they really make me feel like I would like to better myself in that way. They’re positive, these are the pros and the ads I really like.

 

Sarah S.

1 Response so far »

  1. 1

    hinchea said,

    I totally agree with you about the alcoholic ads. While some of them are entertaining (Dos Equis “Most Interesting Man In The World” for example), it definitely does not share the negative connotations it can bring. I feel it’s on the same level as the cigarette advertising that is now restricted. It can have a negative impact on people’s lives overall.


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

