Week 8 Discussion

Kristin Marquardt

Last week, the discussion question asked you to write about ads you most liked, or hated, because of the visuals. This week, use that as the basis to answer this question:  Based on the concepts from Unit 2 (see Concept Book Unit 2) or from the textbook (for example, see page 300), explain why your most favorite or hated ads had an influence on you. What was it that worked – or didn’t work?

The commercial I chose used “Visual communication techniques in ads that trigger involuntary responses” from the unit 2 concepts. In the e*trade commercials, the baby talks to the listener with a direct eye gaze and the commercial also uses humor and visual metaphors (showing that it is so easy a baby can use it). I love the humor of the e*trade commercials. I love comedies and things that make me laugh. Usually I get annoyed of commercials, but I even search these commercials on YouTube just to watch for fun. The link below is of one of my favorite e*trade commercials. I like it because one of the babies sings “Take These Broken Wings” by Mr. Mister. It’s adorable!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KCs8gIMKBSo

2 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    rockyoyole said,

    I too really enjoy watching the commercials with the talking babies. Babies, for one, are always cute, and it’s funny and adorable all in one to see mature sentences coming out of their mouths. Using humor really makes people want to watch them.

  2. 2

    hinchea said,

    I also think that comedic commercials are pretty awesome! Unfortunately, I don’t realize that that has little to do with the product itself, and it definitely can skew my preferences towards it. I definitely should look into the products more. Also, e*Trade is hilarious with the baby.


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

